Doctoral thesis prize

The yet-unnamed doctoral thesis prize is awarded every four years by the Finnish Statistical Society to an outstanding doctoral thesis in statistics or a closely related field. The first prize was awarded during the 2013 Statistical Days in Turku, Finland.


2009-2012 — Jukka Sirén, University of Helsinki. Statistical models for inferring the structure and history of populations from genetic data.
2013-2016 — Johan Pensar, Åbo Akademi University. Structure Learning of Context-Specific Graphical Models.